How Oracle Stores Passwords


Several years ago I wrote a small summary of the Oracle password hashing and storage for versions up to 11g.

Today I’ve completed my update of that article up to 12.1.0.2, including code to mimic generation of passwords given the appropriate salts.
The initial publication is in PDF format, I may convert and reformat it to other forms for better distribution.

The pdf file can be downloaded from my dropbox here.

It was interesting and enjoyable digging into the details of the hashes and how they change between versions and interact with the case-sensitivity settings.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did writing it.

Questions and Comments always welcome

